Fantasy, Paranormal, Reviews, YA

Review: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

17675462

“My words are unerring tools of
destruction, and I’ve come unequipped with the ability to disarm them.”

This was my second read from Maggie Stiefvater and after finding The Scorpio Races so-so, I´m pleasantly surprised with how much I enjoyed The Raven Boys.

I didn´t really know what I expected going into this, but, I had seen it floating around with high ratings on Goodreads and it was available on my audiobook service so I thought, hey, why not?

I do not regret that decision, at all.

This story is really interesting and I thought it felt quite different in comparison to many other YA´s in this genre out there. It´s kind of like a good old mystery novel but YA, which I really liked. Stiefvater has created both a really interesting world with lots of detail and little things and fact and lore (one of my favorite things about fantasy books!) and the characters are really good too.

However, if I do have one criticism, it´s the lack of diversity in her characters, even if they are complex and interesting and make me want to find out more about them.

Another point, unrelated to the actual book in itself, that is making me rate this 4 stars rather than 5 is that I listened to it as audio. I had problems in the beginning with the narrator, Will Patton, but I found myself liking his style better as I got further in. Something I also have problems with when it comes to audio, that I´m trying to get better at, is catching all the details and everything that is happening. I´m quite fidgety as a person and my mind wanders very easily when listening rather than actively reading and sometimes little details slipped pass me, so I have a feeling this would have been a 4,5 for me as a regular text rather than audio.

So, all in all, a really great YA for anyone who´s into mystery and fantasy!

Now onto downloading and listening to nr.2, The Dream Thieves!

4/5 stars.

 

Leave a Reply

