General, TBR/Wrap-Up

May Wrap-up and June TBR!

Is the 8th too late for a “beginning of the month” tag?

Nah… right?

Anyways, hello my lovelies! I´m back, with something else but a review! Exam season has been keeping me from being able to write much else for you but now summer´s here and I´m getting my inspiration back to work on my writing and hopefully, hopefully, I´ll get back to finalizing my 3rd draft/2nd edit of my novel!! Eeeek!

But for today, I´m going through the books I devoured and finished during the month of May as well as the books I’m hoping to get to during June.

May Wrap-up:

Except for Miss Julie, I actually managed to keep to a kind of color scheme with my books during the past month! 😉

1.) A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas

23766634

Ah! I waited so long, and I savored every. single. page. of it. 

For any of you who have somehow missed out on the hype around this and the ACOTAR series you can check out my Waiting For Wednesday post on it, but for any of you still waiting to read it, all I say is go read it! As a huge SJM fan, this was just a joy for me to read and to see all the characters that I love so dearly again was just lovely. It did nearly break me at the end and while I did think the ending was a bit optimistic, it did leave my little fangirling heart content. I rated it 5/5 stars (obviously) and you can read my review on it here.

2.) Fröken Julie (Miss Julie) by August Strindberg

325916

Another Strindberg last month! This one I did start quite early during May, might even have been in April, as we worked with it for an extended period of time for my Swedish Literature class but I did finish it in May.

Strindberg is one of those authors I´m very torn on, I simultaneously adore and loathe his work and I´m never just at a happy middle. His writing is beautiful and as I mentioned before it´s the kind of writing that reminds me how beautiful my language can be and how beautifully words can be crafted but at the same time there´s an underlying tone of bragging and misogyny which just leaves me torn. If you want to hear more of my thoughts on it I wrote a review on it here. I rated it 3/5 stars.

3.) Zenn Diagram by Wendy Brant

31423684

This book was for me one of those nice and easy, kinda cute but still interesting novels that doesn´t require too much of my brain power but keeps it well and fully entertained for a few hours, ergo perfect for reading during exam season! It feels like it might be your average contemporary at first but it has a couple twists and turns that for me spiced it up and made it interesting. There were a couple points a found myself enjoying less, of which you can read about in my review here, but generally, I thought it was a really nice read! I rated it 4/5 stars.

4.) City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

256683

This was my second read of this book as I´m writing my extended essay for school about this through comparing it to the movie and analyzing it. Getting back into the Shadowhunter world was really lovely and made me even more excited, if possible, to get stuck into Lord of Shadows as soon as it pops into my mailbox!

5.) The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

18166936

Last, but not least, we have the book that was the book-of-the-month for my book group A Book Nirvana´s May read-along! Personally, I found myself not enjoying this quite as much while actually reading, except for the last 15% of it, in comparison to looking back on it. It´s one of those books where there is a lot of detail about a lot of different things which don´t really make sense until the very end, which left me somewhat indecisive as to what I thought about it. You can find my review here, I rated it 3/5 stars.

Now, onto the books I´m hoping to read in June!

June TBR (+currently reading):

Paper Towns by John Green

18690890.jpg

Who is the real Margo?

I can´t believe it´s taken me this long to get to reading another John Green novel after loving TFIOS so much a couple years ago, especially as I´ve had the copy lying around for a good couple of months! So far I´m about half-way through and I´m really enjoying it!

Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton

18710209

In this novel, that I only just started as it´s the book -of-the-month for A Book Nirvana´s read-along this month, we get to follow the young girls of the New York ballet corps and conservation as they prepare for the sought-after roles in the Nutcracker. So far I´m feeling quite unsure about how I´m liking it but we´ll see how I get on…

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

30312891

It´s on it´s way to me, I´m excited, I´m ready for badass Shadowhunters and faeries and the Blackthorns and Julian and Emma and Mark and Cassie Clare´s  beautiful stories.

I´m ready! And I´m so excited!

8if you didn´t  get that already.

Oil and Marble by Stephanie Storey

25898723

Book: “a rewarding read for art aficionados and fans of historical fiction”

Me: *holds out money*

This book is quite different from the ones I usually pick but as a hobby artist and art nerd and a lover of historical fiction, I couldn´t not add this to my TBR. The story is about Michelangelo and Leonardo da Vinci and how they were competing with each other, it gives a look into their time and isn´t just a history book giving facts, it gives their story (fictionally, of course, hehe). It sounds so interesting to me and I´m very excited to read it soon!

And that´s all for today! Hope you are all having a lovely Thursday, or whatever day of the week it is for you and I´ll see you soon with some June new book releases!

/Amanda

Leave a Reply

