Adult, Fantasy, NA, Reviews

Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

23766634

“For a moment, I let myself see past the glamour that concealed the tattoo on my right hand and forearm. The markings of my true heart. My true title. High Lady of the Night Court.”

It´s stunning.

I don´t know what more to say. I´ve been putting off writing this review for a week now because I don´t even know where to start.

This was the third and final book to the A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas (although it continues with other characters 2018!) and while it´s sad, it was a very well done finale in my opinion.

The whole book is really driven forward by the war they all know is coming rather than the characters like in ACOMAF or the worldbuilding like ACOTAR, although there is still plenty of both here too, and I think Maas did well in this finale and in how she handled all the conflict considering how much expectations there were for the book and how popular the series has become.

Personally, I think the highlights were getting to see how dynamic the characters are, how they all have different traits (that us fangirls know and love detail by detail) and how dynamic the relationships especially are. And, let´s not forget, the added diversity was very much appreciated with the other High Lords we got to meet and secrets revealed about certain characters 😉

If there is one thing I can say, it´s that while my happy little Maas-fangirl-heart is satisfied with the ending, I can see how some people will find it a little “too good” and I have to admit I think that´s a fair criticism.

So, my lovelies, if you haven´t read the story about Feyre and the world of Prythian yet, get your talons on a copy now and get ready for an emotion rollercoaster ride.

And remember:

“Only you can decide what breaks you, Cursebreaker. Only you.”

5/5 stars.

 

(I´ve excluded any spoilers in the review since it´s still quite a recent release, although you can always catch me over on Tumblr @high-lady-of-dreams for further ACOTAR/SJM shenanigans)

 

1 thought on “Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas”

Leave a Reply

