General, TBR/Wrap-Up

April Wrap-Up and May TBR!

Hello, lovelies!

Spring has sprung big-time in Sweden and the trees are growing greener by the day (yay!). Even if I´m currently staying up way past my bedtime to read ACOWAR (oops) the weather has been so lovely and the sun is getting me through 5 hours of sleep.

So, April was an okay reading month for me. Not the best but not bad. I got through a few of the books I put on my TBR last month and I´m so excited for all the books coming this month!

If you want to see some more of the books releasing in May, I posted about it yesterday here.

Anyways, here are the books I read in April:

1) Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan

29910798

The Magnus Chase series is the first series I´ve started by Rick Riordan and I have to admit it´s becoming one of my favorites. It´s funny, it adventurous and the characters are diverse and interesting. The whole story is action packed from start to finish and I found myself kind of marveling at how Riordan comes up with everything.

I´ve written a review on it here and it was a 4-star rating for me!

2) The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

22864842

For me, this was a little bit of a let-down. I had expected more from this book as it had been floating around Goodreads praised by booktubers and reviewers but I personally didn´t see the charm. The concept and idea behind the story I like, but the execution plot-wise dragged it down and let the idea as well as Johansen’s beautiful writing down if you ask me.

You can find my full review on it here, I rated it 2,75 stars out of 5.

3) Ett Drömspel by August Strindberg

141834

I hadn´t originally been planning to read this wonderful drama this month but on a whim, I sat down a couple weeks ago and spent my Sunday afternoon plowing through it – and it felt like a dream. This drama is written by Swedish author August Strindberg (I read the Swedish original) and it´s very unique in its style and form. Steinberg’s writing is beautiful and descriptive and he managed to replicate the kind of lucidness of dreaming really well.

This was a clear 5-stars for me and I´m definitely planning on getting my hands on some more of his work soon.

You can find my full review here.

4) Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

28145767

This book – my ladies and gents – is what good writing is.

This was my first read by Laini Taylor (how haven´t I read anything by her before!?) and I´M IN LOVE with her writing. The prose is poetic and it has a wonderful fluentness and the metaphors and descriptions make me want to travel and dream my way to my own city of gold.

I´m currently writing a review on it that is being posted later this week but I can already tell you it was a bright and shining 5-stars.

May TBR:

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

23766634

I don´t know if I really have to say more about this book. I´m currently reading it (and LOVING it) and I´m longing for the weekend to come so I can properly sit down and enjoy it for more than 20-min train rides.

If you´re interested in the A Court of Thorns and Roses series, get reading now folks! It´s a brilliant series and I would highly recommend it!

Fröken Julie by August Strindberg

325916.jpg

This is one of the books I have assigned to read in my literature class (I´m reading this in Swedish) and after loving Ett Drömspel (A Dream Play) so much I´m really excited to get to this! I´ve made my way through the first little bit (it´s quite short) and I can already tell I´m going to have a long review trying to spell out all my feelings about Jean.

If you´re interested, here is a bit of the blurb for you:

August Strindberg’s disturbing and enduring drama of the transgressive affair between the daughter of a count and the count’s man-servant has an eerie feel of the contemporary about it. It´s about the fight between high and low, noble and peasant and the downfall of someone once high up.

Zenn Diagram by Wendy Brant

31423684

Netgalley kindly provided me with a copy of this book that was quite recently released (April 4th) and it sounded really interesting so I´m hoping to get to it soon. It´s a YA Romance/Contemporary and while it´s about math – which I´m usually less fond of – the blurb actually made me really intrigued:

“The more I touch someone, the more I can see and understand, and the more I think I can help. But that’s my mistake. I can’t help. You can’t fix people like you can solve a math problem.

Math genius. Freak of nature. Loner.

Eva Walker has literally one friend—if you don’t count her quadruplet three-year-old-siblings—and it’s not even because she’s a math nerd. No, Eva is a loner out of necessity, because everyone and everything around her is an emotional minefield. All she has to do is touch someone, or their shirt, or their cell phone, and she can read all their secrets, their insecurities, their fears.”

It´s sounds really cool and like there might be some magic-type stuff going on, so with some hope I´ll have time for this sometime during may!

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

18166936

This is the book of the month for my Goodreads group A Book Nirvana this month and I´m really excited about it. It´s a YA Fantasy/Magical Realism book and it´s supposed to have very beautiful prose. It´s the story about Ava Lavender, a sixteen-year-old girl born with the wings of a bird and how it is to be born with hearts that are tragically and exquisitely human.

Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

30312891

Once again, what else is there to say about this?

It´s Cassie Clare, it´s Shadowhunters, it´s the sequel to the lovely Lady Midnight and I´m so freaking excited for May 23rd when it´s being released.

I wrote a Waiting for Wednesday post on it here if you want to read more.

But, for now, that´s all! Stay tuned for a Strange the Dreamer review later this week and a happy May the Fourth to all my fellow Star Wars nerds out there!

/Amanda

Leave a Reply

