General, TBR/Wrap-Up

March Wrap-up and April TBR!

Hello, lovelies!

While I wish I was telling you it´s yet another beautiful and sunny day, it´s really just rainy and cold outside and all I want is to stay in bed…

But! There is work to be done and books to be read, of course.

March was an okay reading month for me. I have noticed my reading pace has slowed down a little during this year as I´m getting more and more work from school (it´s the IB life, haha) but I´m still on track according to my Goodreads challenge so I suppose it´s not too bad 😉

March Wrap-Up:

 

1.) Through the Dark by Alexandra Bracken

I started reading this last fall when I was reading the first two books in the Darkest Minds series, then I finished this just after finishing In the Afterlight. The Darkest Minds is one of my new favorite series and this book did not disappoint. It was really cool getting the backstory for some of the events in the books and the last short story (it´s not that short, it´s about 200 pages, but still) felt like the perfect finale to an epic trilogy.

I rated it 5/5 stars.

2.) Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth

This was one of my more anticipated releases this year as I was a big fan of Divergent and it was picked as the monthly read along for the book group A Book Nirvana on Goodreads that I´m a moderator in, so, I obviously just had to get my hands on it. I´ll be releasing a full review later this week so I´m not going to get into my thoughts on it too much, but let´s just say it wasn´t quite what I had expected.

I rated it 2/5 stars.

3.) The Princess Saves Herself In This One by Amanda Lovelace

Thank you, short books, for keeping me on track with my Goodreads challenge this year 😉

This little poetry book ended up being started and finished in the same day. It´s 150 pages but because of its format, it´s very quickly read unless you really stay and analyze etc. with each poem. You can find my full review on it here.

I rated it 3/5 stars.

4.) Annie John by Jamaica Kincaid

This book I read as part of my Swedish Litterature class and it was an okay read. It wasn´t necessarily bad but it didn´t excite me all that much. The book follows Annie, a young Antiguan girl as she grows up, becomes independent and learns to find herself in a place where perhaps society is trying to make her someone else. I posted a review on it here.

I rated it 3/5 stars.

5.) Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

Ahh, is there really anything I need to say about Harry Potter that isn´t obvious? I started reading through the series by listening to the audiobooks on my commute back and forth to school and it has been absolutely lovely. Stephen Fry is a lovely narrator and it´s definitely brightening up my mornings by getting to listen to this magical world.

I rated it (an obvious) 5/5 stars.

6.) Freeks by Amanda Hocking

I just finished this in the beginning of the week (review is coming later this week) and it was a pretty interesting read. I didn´t really go in with many expectations with this one and I had never read anything by Amanda Hocking before so it was really nice to get to try it out. It wasn´t exactly my favorite, but it wasn´t bad either.

I rated it (or will rate it!) 3/5 stars.

Now when it comes to April, I have a few books in mind I´d like to get to…

April TBR:

29910798

First up is my current read, Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan.

I read the first book, The Sword of Summer last fall not long after the release of this one and I´m really excited to get stuck back in the world of Norse Gods and just Ludacris/ridiculous things that were in the previous book.

You can find my review of The Sword of Summer here.

download (6)

Next is the A Book Nirvana monthly read along choice for April, The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen.

Once again an author I haven´t read before and a series I´ve heard a lot of good talk about! I´m very excited to read it and if I end up enjoying it I´ll likely postpone my other picks to read the other two books in the series.

Here´s a bit of the blurb for you:

“An untested young princess must claim her throne, learn to become a queen, and combat a malevolent sorceress in an epic battle between light and darkness in this spectacular debut—the first novel in a trilogy.

Young Kelsea Raleigh was raised in hiding after the death of her mother, Queen Elyssa, far from the intrigues of the royal Keep and in the care of two devoted servants who pledged their lives to protect her. Growing up in a cottage deep in the woods, Kelsea knows little of her kingdom’s haunted past . . . or that its fate will soon rest in her hands.”

download (7)

Next, another anticipated release this year, Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor.

I saw this review for this book the other day and when I read the description I fell in love at first sight – and into my Kindle on release day it went!

I´ve heard so much good about Laini Taylor and her supposedly mystical and magical writing before so I´m super stoked to get to it.

Just hear this and try to keep yourself from purchasing it right now:

“The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way aroundand Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance to lose his dream forever.

In this sweeping and breathtaking new novel by National Book Award finalist Laini Taylor, author of the New York Times bestselling Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy, the shadow of the past is as real as the ghosts who haunt the citadel of murdered gods. Fall into a mythical world of dread and wonder, moths and nightmares, love and carnage.”

download (8)

And last but not least, Every Day by David Levithan.

This book has been standing on my bookshelf since I bought it last Christmas and hopefully I´ll finally get to reading it this coming month. I´ve heard some mixed reviews about it but I really liked the books he co-authored with Rachel Cohn (Dash and Lily´s Book of Dares) so hopefully, this won´t disappoint.

If you´re curious about it yourself, here´s a part of the blurb:

“Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.
There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.”

And that´s it!

Excuse the quite long post but there were a lot of books to go through and a bit to say 😉 Then again, have any of us ever complained about too many books?

Have a lovely Thursday and happy reading!

/Amanda

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

